Tuesday, July 21, 2009

My Second Chance

My parents left this morning for Virginia. My dad has a business trip until friday and my mom and brother decided to join them. Lainey is away for the week in Tennessee. I have the week to myself. Nicole is spending the week at my house. Of course my parents are putting a lot of faith in me. They are trusting me to behave and I intend to do just that.
The only thing that I find really nice is the peace and quiet of the house and not having a curfew for a few days. It would be nice to not have one permanently. I'm 19 1/2 for goodness sake. I think I can determine when I should come home. I'm gonna be 20 years old and not be able to stay out past midnight without consulting my mother.
I also got to meet Jon's dad Saturday night at party at his house. It was fun except for this woman that kept asking questions and being really nosey about our relationship. She asked if we would get married before he left. We both just looked at each other and stated it was a little early to be thinking about that at the moment. We then walk out of the house towards the larger of the two fires only to see his father and the woman sitting with each other at the smaller fire and the seemed quite comfy.
I've heard stories of how it is when your parents start dating again but I have luckily never had to deal with that type of grief in my life. I have seen it in Jon's eyes though and it's not pleasant. What hurts him most is that his parents aren't even divorced and have only been separated for a short while and he's already dating again. He confronted the woman and she told him that if I had just gotten out of a marriage he wouldn't give me time. I found this quite rude considering she knows neither of us well enough to make such assumptions.
I find divorce to be terrible. I have never thought of it as an option. It is one reason why I ended my relationship with my last boyfriend. He talked to his friends like I was a car and you would never buy a car without test driving it would you? He also found divorce to be a good escape if you were having problems. If you truly loved me you wouldn't even think of divorce. You wouldn't want divorce. Our society relies too much on the easy out rather than trying to tough it out and work for something that you want.
What I would give to live in the late 1800's or early 1900's.

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Most epic fail ever

I have seen every Harry Potter movie at the midnight premier except the one that was released last night. I stood in line at 8:45 and waited until they let us into the theater between 9:30 and 10. My little sister went and bought popcorn and drinks for us since we still had two hours before the movie started. 12 o'clock comes around and our movie was set to start at 12:01. The previews don't start until after 12:30. Then the film strip breaks five times, FIVE TIMES, within the previews.
We think they have finally fixed it and the classic beginning of flying through the clouds begins so the theater cheers praying nothing else happens. It's now 1 am. An hour after the movie was suppose to start. Ten minutes in we begin to be engrossed in the movie. Then the film strip melts. The lights come back up and we sit there. People are leaving and people are trying to figure out what's wrong. Eventually the general manager comes in and tells us that our movie will start in either 5, 10,15, or 20 minutes but it will start. We can get refunds in the lobby either tonight or at a later date. Another guy who is sitting behind me comes in later and informs everyone that 4 theaters have been cancelled. Two more workers come in at 1:30. By this time I have been here for almost 5 hours. They tell us to take our seats and the movie is about to begin from the beginning. It starts but the lights are still on and it's a few seconds after where it originally melted. 5 seconds in the film strip melts again so they cancel our theater. This was the most ridiculous thing I have ever experienced. They owe me a lot more than my money back.

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

Freshman Year

So I was thinking back on the past year and all that's happened and how much I have changed. I do regret some decisions but most I would go back and do all over again because they have made me the person I am today. Even the moment I regret I'm almost ok with happening because I've learned from it.
College isn't all it's cracked up to be either. I would rather not go if I could get a decent job without a degree but this world has come to the point where you almost need a masters to be successful now. It's ridiculous. College is a joke. Most students just party and skip class and are lucky enough to pass by pulling all nighters the night before the big exam.
I also met some great people. I got outside of my tiny circle and let myself get hurt. I worked harder than I ever have in my life during soccer and I learned that softball is definitely where I should stay because I have way more talent there. Then I met a lot of my sister's friends when I went to Florida for spring break and had so much fun at her wedding as well. Being a maid of honor is a big job on wedding day. I'm glad I had to deal with the stress rather than her though.
Of course I also lost some people. My great-grandmother and my aunt all within one month. It was nice to have Nicole to talk to though. She made sure while I was in Florida to check up on me asking how everything was and to listen when I rambled on about them. Of course other's have been lost in the process too and my heart goes out to them.
I almost went a whole year without a boyfriend like I promised Sam and Marissa I could. Now I have the best boyfriend in the world who's going into the Army and I won't get to see all next fall and next spring.
Freshman year will always be a time that I remember. The good memories will never be forgotten. Hopefully Sophomore year is just as fun.